Poncia22's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why is social media so addicting?

As you all may know, I am on the basketball team at Dominican and travel a lot during the season (sorry for missing class John).  We have traveled to Seattle, Las Vegas, Utah twice, Hawaii, Arizona, and all over the Bay Area for games this year.  During all of our trips, I find myself wanting to get on Facebook or Twitter to see if anything new and exciting is going on with my friends or celebrities I follow.  I used to think it was a bad habit to get on Facebook five times a day, but now I am beginning to see that it is becoming a bigger and bigger part of everyone’s daily lives including fortune 500 companies.  Often times, Facebook is the first web page I visit when getting on a computer even when I have a lot of homework.

Companies are using Facebook pages to promote themselves in a free and effective way.  It is a valuable way to start getting the name of a new business out to the public because it is free and people can “become a fan” of your business by the click of a mouse.  Forget about paying for old fashion marketing techniques…use Facebook and Twitter to promote your up and coming business.

2 Responses to “Why is social media so addicting?”

  1. I know what you mean. Even though my friends list is tiny and I’m the only person who posts on my profile, I still check facebook all the time. I sometimes feel like I just need to know what’s going on with my friends, and they always post on facebook before anything else. It’s almost like that’s how people are living their lives now: a series of status updates.

  2. I agree. I used to be completely anti-facebook. Originally I had a Myspace and refused to switch over. But I eventually did and once I did, I hardly checked my account. But now If I’m board, at home, in the library or even at work. It seems to be an addiction, to check my comments, update my status or play some random game the website has to offer. Arrrg dang Facebook, its a love hate relationship hahaha.


Leave a comment